top of page

What is a Dangerous Goods Declaration?

Shipping Dangerous Goods

Are you responsible for shipping dangerous goods? If so, you know that it's a complex and challenging task. There are a lot of regulations to follow, and it's easy to make a mistake that could put people and property at risk.

That's where DGM comes in. We are a leading provider of dangerous goods management services. We have the expertise and experience to help you stay compliant with international regulations and keep your shipments safe.

In this video, we will discuss the key aspects of a dangerous goods declaration. We will cover what hazardous materials are included in these declarations, and how to properly handle them.

What is a Dangerous Goods Declaration?

A dangerous goods declaration is a document that is required by law for the transportation of hazardous materials. It provides information about the nature of the hazardous materials, the quantity being shipped, and the proper handling and storage procedures.

What Hazardous Materials are Included in Dangerous Goods Declarations?

The types of hazardous materials that are included in dangerous goods declarations are numerous. However, some of the most common hazardous materials include:

It Class 1: Explosives

  • Ammunition

  • Gunpowder

  • Fireworks

Class 2: Gases

  • Oxygen

  • Nitrogen

  • Helium

Class 3: Flammable Liquids

  • Gasoline

  • Perfumes

  • Food Flavoring

Class 4: Flammable Solids

  • Matches

  • Lighters

  • Guitar Picks

Class 5: Oxidizing Substances

  • Bleach

  • Ammonia

  • Potassium permanganate

Class 6: Poisonous and Infectious Substances

  • Arsenic

  • Mercury

  • Ebola virus

Class 7: Radioactive Materials

  • Uranium

  • Aerospace Instrument Gauges

  • Smoke Detectors

Class 8: Corrosives

  • Sulfuric acid

  • Hydrochloric acid

  • Car Batteries

Class 9: Miscellaneous

  • Lithium Ion and Lithium Metal Batteries

  • Consumer Commodities such as Perfumes and Nail Polishes

  • Dry Ice


bottom of page